Skip to content

Chore Charts for Preschoolers

January 13, 2010

Update: I have to confess that I don’t use this system anymore. It was one of those things that seemed like a clever idea at the time, but just didn’t work for us. I’ve learned that for the preschoolers in my family, nothing can take the place of old-fashioned reminders and instructions. One of the charts still hangs on the wall in the event one of them takes an interest in using it, but for now, it serves mainly as a reminder for me to remind my preschoolers to brush their teeth and such. Try it out if you like, but don’t beat yourself up if it doesn’t work!

Chore systems… I seem to be constantly re-evaluating ours and tweaking them to fit the ever-changing dynamics of our family. Sharing chore ideas was part of the reason I ever started this blog, and there have been no shortage of updates since! Several months ago, if you remember, I wrote about how we had begun to implement the “Managers of their Chores” chorepacks. For the most part, these chorepacks have been a tremendous blessing to us. They have been very effective at keeping most of children on task. They continue to be heavily used on a daily basis, and have saved us a ton of frustration.

Yes, I said “most” of our children. The younger set (age five and under) had some problems with the chorepacks:

  • I’m not sure that our four-year-old ever really grasped the concept of the cards.
  • The chore cards would often fall out of their packs, and we’d need to re-sort them several times a day.
  • While they understood the concept of “always put the chore pack away each day,” their understanding extended only to the realm of theory, not practice.
  • We spent several mornings a week looking for misplaced chorepacks and lost cards.

Again, these problems were limited only to the “age five and under” children. For the older children, the chorepacks were worth every (very reasonable) penny.

I decided to design a new system for the younger kids who need to do morning habits and chores on a daily basis. Here’s what we came up with:

Everything you see above was printed on cardstock paper and then laminated.

On the right is Chelle’ morning chart, listing all the things she needs to do before eating breakfast. The little black rectangles are pieces of magnetic strips. The little princess crowns have magnets attached to the backs. After she does each item on her list, she places the princess crown next to it.

On the left side is Young Mike’s morning chart. He has knight helmets for his magnets. All the magnets are in place, showing that his ‘before breakfast” tasks have been completed.

The pictures on the list stand for:

  • make bed
  • get dressed
  • put pajamas in hamper (or under pillow, depending on what day it is)
  • tidy room
  • brush hair
  • brush teeth

When all have been completed, they come downstairs, where breakfast is typically ready and another chart awaits on the fridge:

The pictures on the list remind them to:

  • Young Mike – empty silverware from dishwasher, Chelle – set silverware on table.
  • Next they eat breakfast – no picture is necessary to remind them to do this!
  • help clean up the kitchen: Young Mike dust-busts the floor, and Chelle wipes the chairs.
  • tidy downstairs jurisdictions
  • throw laundry down the chute for whoever’s laundry day it is
  • ask me what their extra chore is – there is a different chore for each day of the week.

After several weeks of use, I’d have to say that this system is about as good as it gets for this age group: fun, hands on, visual, doesn’t get lost, and most importantly, it works!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 11:21 AM

    Thanks for posting this. I have the same problem! I have not used the MOTC system, but have the book and that was my biggest concern. I instead decided to “marry” a few systems together, which I am still tweaking…. (forever)… my recently turned three year old is showing signs that he is ready to get involved, but I know he is not ready for “my system”. An in case your wondering I used some of the principles in MOTC (although I still need to read the book), but mostly my system is based on the Accountable Kids book and system. I did not buy the AK system, but rather a cheaper board and made my own cards for it… In the future or if you have a post about it already I would like to see how you reward your kids. I don’t want to use money or things as a motivator….. but, we are having a hard time committing to even simple things like one on one time with Mom & Dad. Do you use “motivators”?

  2. Leslie permalink
    January 13, 2010 1:08 PM

    I might have to implement this…just need to figure out how to get my printer set up to our “new” 1 year old computer!!! How sad is that! I always printed at work so never got ours set up at home!!!! he he….

  3. Heather permalink
    January 13, 2010 4:07 PM

    Great ideas! Just wondering….do you have Princess’s chart in a file that you could send to me?

  4. January 13, 2010 10:40 PM

    Hmmm… I had another thought…. I can envision those magnets disappearing. One solution would to make extras, but I was also thinking the little crown/hat could be on some sort of sliding string chart.

  5. January 14, 2010 7:19 AM

    Shannon, I thought of the magnets disappearing to, so I made a lot of extras and stuck them to the fridge. I hope it will take them a long time to lose them all, and then I can make more if needed. The sliding chart sounds interesting too. I’d love to see what you come up with! 🙂 Rewards – I do have a few posts on that. Dad Dollars: https://myblessedhome.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/dad-dollars/ and Encouraging Good Character: https://myblessedhome.wordpress.com/2009/01/06/encouraging-good-character/ They are both under the “Parenting” tab at the top of the page.

    Leslie, I can totally identify. Printer setups are so cumbersome! Iron Man has to do that type of thing for me because I use mine all the time.

  6. January 14, 2010 9:43 PM

    I about slapped my forehead when you said the group that was having trouble with the chore packs “age five and under”! All of mine are age five and under right now! 🙂 And we don’t really have “chores” right now. We just sort of do whatever mommy’s doing. If mommy’s doing laundry, everybody is doing laundry, etc. That sort of thing. They will pick up toys, but pretty much only when I say “ok, it time to pick up toys.” I have a schedule, but everyone else seems complete oblivious to it, other than me telling them what we’re doing next. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about transitioning to some sort of chore system, but not really sure what direction to head in. This gives me a lot of good stuff to think about.

    When did you first start implementing independent, assigned chores?

  7. January 14, 2010 9:45 PM

    Oh, btw, I have 5 yo boy, 3 yo boy, 2 yo girl and 10 month old boy.

  8. Eva permalink
    February 9, 2010 11:04 PM

    Thank you for sharing your ideas. I would love to try this with my boys, ages 6 and 4, however the issue that I am having is finding decent clipart/images. Can you share where you got yours?

  9. February 10, 2010 12:10 AM

    Eva, I got access to these images through the Managers of their Chores book. When you purchase the book, they give you access to their Chorepacks site (http://www.chorepacks.com/) where you can make chore cards. I used those images for the my preschool charts. I would really love to publish my chart as a file here, but the book explicitly states that I’m not allowed to distribute their pictures, as it’s copywritten.

    If you go to http://www.google.com, look up in the upper left corner of your screen. By default, google will search under “web.” However, if you click on “images,” you will get only images of what you’re looking for. That’s how I usually get images and clipart for the little charts and things that I make.

    One of these days I would like to just design my own pictures so that I can publish and distribute them at will. Finding the time to do that is another story. 🙂

    Oh, one more thing you could do would be to take photos and use those for the charts – your child’s nicely-made bed, a comb and brush, etc.

  10. Nicole permalink
    June 30, 2015 10:31 PM

    so after finishing moth i am now starting the lengthy process of making my chore list/chart. After spending…forever..filling out the dilligance worksheet I decided to type it up and thought I would look a few things up on your blog 🙂 (because all of your posts are so very helpful, I often reread posts!) Anyway I have been considering purchasing mot chores however now after reading your disclaimer I am hesitant to get it. I want the chores to work but I want to know..is it really too much work to be worth it to go through with doing the chore pack thing? Also side note.. i tried to click on the link in the above comment for rewarding good character but that link doesnt work anymore..do you have that post anywhere? ( I have recently lost my a childs book of character book..so I am trying to look for some other things to help out with character training until I find it)

    • Michelle permalink*
      June 30, 2015 11:27 PM

      Hi Nicole! Im so glad these older posts are helpful!

      In answer to whether it’s worth the time to try, I’d say it depends on how much you need your kids to do chores more independently, and if you feel they are mature enough to not lose the cards. If all mine were young, I’d probably give it a try again, but then again I enjoy making systems and things like that. Currently we are in a different stage of life, now with three teens and lots of helpers, and I don’t really need that now. Currently I use a simple chore chart, and read it off to them each day. We do still use morning habits and bedtime habits charts in the bedroom for the little boys though. It’s just a list of five or so tasks (bed, dressed, teeth etc) along with pictures for non readers. I laminate it, poke holes in the top to tie a piece of yarn on it, and hang it on the doorknob.

      I moved the blog a few years ago to a new domain. All the new links for Parenting links, including those about encouraging good character, are here: http://www.myblessedhome.net/parenting/

  11. Nicole permalink
    July 1, 2015 12:05 AM

    I think my biggest concern is them losing the cards and I think my 5 year old is the only one mature enough not to scatter them around the house..

Leave a comment